A Fulfilling Career

dscf15221Hannah is now nine months old, and she is turning into the sweetest little girl!  She amazes me every day with her “genius” (okay – I may be a little biased).  She can quickly crawl around the house, and she is often gone quicker than I can blink an eye!  She is amazing at pulling herself up to standing position, and she is already cruising around the furniture.

As I watch my baby grow into a girl (sadly yet proudly), I realize how important it is to make sure that she grows in God’s Word as well.  The Bible says, “Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it” (Prov. 22:6 – KJV).  As a Christian, this is my responsibility – my privilege – as a mom.  While many people have laughed at my attempts to spend time in the Scripture with Hannah each  morning, I know that these are building blocks for her life – just as playing classical music helps babies learn or playing games with her helps to develop her skills.

Recently, I was offered a parttime job, which would have helped us with our finances.  I decided to go to the interview to see if this was God’s way of supplying our needs.  What I learned was that I needed to be more thankful for the job I already had – that of being Hannah’s mom.  When I returned home, I found her waiting for me, eager and smiling to have Mommy home.  It was then that I realized that my life was already fulfilled in the challenging, boring, and joyful days of being Hannah’s mom.  I hope I never take that for granted, and I am ever so thankful for a husband who supports me in whatever hopes and dreams I pursue.

About themommyfactor

First of all, I am a child of God. I was blessed to come to know Him as my personal Savior when I was just 5 years old! God has blessed me with a wonderful husband, Jamie, who puts up with all of my crazy ideas; a beautiful daughter, Hannah, who is teaching me how to mother in God's grace; a handsome little boy, Ephraim, who keeps us all laughing; and bossy, sweet-natured Harmony, who is never boring! We are enjoying the ups and downs of being parents and look forward to meeting others who are on the same unpredictable journey of parenthood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

