Thanksgiving Recipe

This is one of my favorite times of year, and the food is one of the best parts of it!  Our family get-togethers are a smorgasbord of tantalizing delicacies – from the traditional turkey baked to perfection by my mom to the decadent pumpkin cheesecake made by my beloved (and very talented) sister-in-law.  I crave the traditional dishes for days, eagerly anticipating that first mouth-watering bite.  Have I got you hungry yet?=)

Since this is Thanksgiving week, I just knew I would have to post a recipe.  Since my husband’s favorite is his mother’s Broccoli and Rice Casserole, I thought I would share it with all of you as well.  Happy Eating!

dscf14141Broccoli and Rice Casserole

Ingredients:

2 packages of frozen broccoli

2 cups rice (premium white rice works best)

1 can cream of mushroom soup

1 can cream of celery soup

1 1/2 cups mild shredded cheddar cheese

Salt and Pepper to taste

2 Tbsp. Butter

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Steam broccoli; set aside.  Cook rice and fold in with broccoli in a large mixing bowl.  Add soups, butter, and cheese (save about 1/4 cup of cheese for later).  Spoon mixture into a 2 1/2 qt. baking pan.  Top with remaining cheese.  Cover with foil (or you’ll burn the cheese).  Bake for 45 minutes.

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as we do!  It is so simple but very yummy!  What are your favorite recipes?  I would love to hear from you!

About themommyfactor

First of all, I am a child of God. I was blessed to come to know Him as my personal Savior when I was just 5 years old! God has blessed me with a wonderful husband, Jamie, who puts up with all of my crazy ideas; a beautiful daughter, Hannah, who is teaching me how to mother in God's grace; a handsome little boy, Ephraim, who keeps us all laughing; and bossy, sweet-natured Harmony, who is never boring! We are enjoying the ups and downs of being parents and look forward to meeting others who are on the same unpredictable journey of parenthood!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

